OLD PHOTOS of JAPAN, a photo blog of Japan in the Meiji, Taisho and Showa periods

Old Photos of Japan
shows photos of Japan between the 1860s and 1930s. In 1854, Japan opened its doors to the outside world for the first time in more than 200 years. It set in motion a truly astounding transformation. As fate would have it, photography had just been invented. As the old country vanished and a new one was born, daring photographers took photos. Discover what life was like with their rare and precious photographs of old Japan.
Partner Site

MeijiShowa
License all the photos on this site at our boutique photo agency for vintage photographs, illustrations and maps of Japan between the 1860s and 1930s (Meiji, Taisho, early Showa)

Recent Comments  
  • Henk Veenstra

    Kjeld, Jouw initiatief om oude foto’s op het internet te publiceren vind ik top. Groetjes, Henk

Osaka 1890s • Shinsaibashi Bridge

Osaka 1880s: Shinsaibashi Bridge
Shinsaibashi Today
click to enlarge

Shinsaibashi (Shinsai bridge) in Osaka, Japan. View towards North Osaka. The area across the bridge was famous for its many book shops. The large buildings in the back are the Buddhist temples Kita Mido and Minami Mido. The Western building on the left is the telegraph branch office.

The Shinsaibashi area was located nearby the red light district of Shinmachi and the theater district of Dontonbori. As a result, it prospered as a busy shopping street. There were stores selling lacquer-ware, books, antiques, instruments, paperhangers, and ornaments. The famed kimono store Matsuya, later to become the large department store chain Daimaru, was located on Shinsaibashi-dori, the street from which this photo was taken.

The Western-style iron bridge was imported from Germany in 1873 (Meiji 6) and was 37.1 meters long and 5.2 meters wide. It was the second largest bridge in Osaka and the 5th largest in Japan.

It replaced a 35-meter long and 4 meter wide wooden bridge built in 1622 (Genna 8) by Shinsai Okada—after whom the bridge is named. He was one of four merchants who dug the Nagahori canal. The steel bridge was replaced by a stone bridge in 1909 (Meiji 42).1

The Nagohori canal was reclaimed in 1964 (Showa 39), creating Nagahori-dori. Simultaneously, the stone bridge was converted into an overpass. What was once a picturesque canal, now turned into a busy thoroughfare full of noisy cars. A beautiful part of Osaka had vanished forever.2

The original iron bridge was reconstructed in 1973. It was placed in Osaka’s Tsurumi Ryokuchi in March 1989.3

In 1997 an underground shopping and amusement mall was built where the canal used to be. It cost a whopping JPY 77 billion (USD 700 million). Sections of the stone bridge became part of the pedestrian crossing.4

About one-third of the 730 meter long shopping arcade has a glass ceiling with water flowing on its surface. The parts of the bridge and the water must make people feel as if the canal never disappeared…
Map of Shinsaibashi Bridge, Osaka, 1877
1877 (Meiji 10) Map of Osaka: 1. Nishi Yokobori; 2. Higashi Honganji (Minami Mido); 3. Nagahori; 4. Shinsaibashi

1 Shinsaibashisuji Shopping Center Promotion Association, Chronology of Shinsaibashi. Retrieved on 2007-03-30

2 Osaka City, 心斎橋(しんさいばし). Retrieved on 2008-02-03

3 Osaka City, The Original Shinsaibashi Bridge. Retrieved on 2007-03-30

4 Kippo, Trompe l’oeil brook to flow under Shinsaibashi Bridge. Retrieved on 2007-03-30

Photographer: Kimbei Kusakabe
Publisher: Kimbei Kusakabe
Medium: Albumen Print
Image Number: 70319-0007

Quote this number when you contact us about licensing this image.
You can also licence this image online: 70319-0007 @ MeijiShowa.com.

IMPORTANT
Usage of this image requires a reproduction fee.
Posted by • 2007-03-30
Comment

Kjeld,
Jouw initiatief om oude foto’s op het internet te publiceren vind ik top.
Groetjes, Henk

# Henk Veenstra · 2007-06-19








Textile help

NOTE: Your e-mail address is required, but will not be displayed.